Delete Unwanted Messages

Automatically Delete Unwanted Messages from a Specific E-mail Account
 
Although Google will not block specific e-mail addresses by request, you can create a filter that automatically selects and deletes those annoying or unwanted messages. These messages are deleted permanently from Trash after 30 days or until you manually delete them. 
  • Go to http://webmail.elmira.edu and log on to Gmail using your EC username and password.
  • Click the gear icon in the upper right hand corner and choose Settings
  • Select the Filters tab and choose Create a new filter. You may have to scroll to the bottom of the filters page. 
  • Enter the person’s e-mail address in the From box, then choose Create filter with this search.
  • Next check the Delete it box. This will automatically send the messages to the Trash. If there are previous messages, then check Also apply filter to xx matching conversations
 
  • Click Create Filter. Incoming messages are not blocked but sent automatically to the trash. 
  • Messages that have been in Trash more than 30 days will automatically be deleted. To empty Trash immediately check the Select All box and then click Delete Forever.